The Orford Boardband Committee mission is to define, research and report on if, how, and when (i.e., feasibility and implementation) the Town may achieve offering 100% of the Town’s occupied areas “high speed” “reliable” internet service. This service to be offered at rates comparable to surrounding communities. The committee will use the Monadnock Broadband Implementation Guide as a guide for the Town of Orford – please see the attached on the document tab below

Scope of Work

This Committee shall meet as needed to accomplish the goals within the scope. Those meetings are guided by the laws of New Hampshire for open meetings of official committees which require warning of time, place, and agenda, and recording of minutes.

This committee shall establish a reasonable completion time which may be modified as details develop. The Committee shall not have an initial budget but justified requests to spend money may be addressed to the Selectboard for approval.

This Committee shall report to the Selectboard at least quarterly.

The scope of the Committee may change as details are reported.

This Committee composition shall be by appointment by the Selectboard. At a minimum it will consist of a chair who will be responsible for recording minutes and reporting to the Selectboard.

The Committee shall exist until dissolved by the Selectboard. Appointments to the committee will be for indefinite terms and be subject to termination by the Selectboard.

The Town of Orford Broadband Committee is hereby established by the Town of Orford Selectboard on January 13, 2021

Committee Members & Titles

John Adams, Chair
Ted Cooley
Kathleen Landgraf
Robert Hedges
Lisa Camarra, Secretary
Fran Plaisted
Jeff Thurston
Ron Smith
Kerry Swartz
Charles Smith, Jr.
Martha Tecca
Elizabeth Schwendler

Links to Broadband Information

Grafton County Broadband website

Graphic representation of the Orford broadband survey results

NH Electric Coop’s (NHEC) business model